Good news coming from Kashmir for wildlife, adventure and nature-lovers! The Jammu and Kashmir administration has just announced to develop seven new trekking routes in different wildlife protected regions. This is being done to promote sustainable tourism in the valley. The government has also said that new rest houses and inspection huts would also be developed here for tourists and wildlife-lovers, and it will be a major push to eco-tourism in the region without disturbing the ecological balance.

For the seven new trekking routes, following regions have been chosen:

1) Thajwas Wildlife Sanctuary
2) Sudhmahadev Conservation Reserve
3) Bahu Conservation Reserve
4) Tral Wildlife Sanctuary-Dachigam National Park-Overa-Aru Wildlife Sanctuary
5) Thein Wildlife Conservation Reserve
6) Khrew Wildlife Conservation Reserve-Dachigam National Park-Khonmoh Conservation Reserve
7) Khrew Wildlife Conservation Reserve

Those visiting Jammu and Kashmir will soon be able to explore the valley more closely with these new trekking routes, while enjoying their stay at picturesque places surrounded with nature.

Online booking of 29 forest rest houses and inspection huts would also be open From May 1, 2021. The Forest, Ecology and Environment department has been asked to book rest houses on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Another batch of 58 rest houses and huts will be made available for booking online from July 1, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *